Avoid the Sun and Listen to Your Mother: A lupus cautionary tale (#HAWMC 17)

Butterfly Lessons

Today’s HAWMC prompt is dear to my heart because I have learned many, many Butterfly Lessons the hard way.

Learned the Hard Way. What’s a lesson you learned the hard way? Write about it for 15 today.

My favorite hard-headed story is about the sunbathing. Probably anyone who has ever heard of lupus knows that one of the illness’ distinguishing characteristics is sun sensitivity. To sum it up in a catchy phrase:

“The Sun is not my friend.”

I am pretty good at minimizing sun exposure, but must admit that I still love to travel to sunny places. I have gone to the Caribbean several times and even went to Hawaii and Tulum, Mexico (which is crazy hot).

Each trip I managed by keeping out of the sun during the heat of the day, always wearing a hat and sunscreen, and become best friends with beach umbrellas. The trips…

View original post 376 more words

Leave a Reply

